Suggestions


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:00 am

Re: Suggestions

Makes me think of suggestion taron had for using image brush. Create a bunch of brush images in sequence ranging from a few bristles to say a hundred bristles. Use pressure to determine which image is used. As you lift the brush it sweeps back to the first image with just a few bristles.
I thought that was quite clever! So I tried it. Works pretty well. Just wish there was a curve to control how the pressure is applied. Pressure curve would be a blessing for all brushes actually. Anyway....give it shot...might get you where you want to be.
:)
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium
User avatar

Posts: 1293

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:49 pm

Post Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:52 am

Re: Suggestions

That's very good point, Stavros.
I didn't remember the pr for pressure function for the image brush.
What I do hope is that the implemented version would be faster, with smaller spacing.
Even with "high speed" on and mouse speed low it's pretty quickly stuttering.
But it is working!!!

Impasto-Image_Brush.JPG
Impasto-Image_Brush.JPG (142.87 KiB) Viewed 900 times


Thanks for this!!
A curve to control is something taron has in mind as well, I am sure.
Man - we really need some kind of crowdfunding to get him work on this for a couple of month. But first, we need a crowd again ;)
System: i7 3930k@4,2 Ghz / Titan GTX 6GB / win7 Ultimate 64 Bit/ 64GB Ram
User avatar

Posts: 1293

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:49 pm

Post Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:10 pm

Re: Suggestions

Besides this number of bristles to pen pressure it would be also a blast to have smudging on pen pressure.Well with less opacity it seems to be almost like smudging, but still a bit less effective???
Same could be with average.
System: i7 3930k@4,2 Ghz / Titan GTX 6GB / win7 Ultimate 64 Bit/ 64GB Ram

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:48 pm

Re: Suggestions

Just a thought knacki
If you want a smoother image bristle brush then try building each image from the previous one so the bristles remain aligned as opposed to each one being random....
Start the first bristle image....capture...add some bristles to the same image...capture again....add some more....and so on
Should give you a smoother stroke.
But yah smoothing is an issue
:)
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium
User avatar

Posts: 1293

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:49 pm

Post Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:39 pm

Re: Suggestions

Good point Stavros - but I have more a problem with spacing of image brushes, more clearly said.
With high speed on, one can reduce spacing, but it is not continuous, closed stroke.
The only brushes working without a spacing problem are #6, #7, #8 & #9.
System: i7 3930k@4,2 Ghz / Titan GTX 6GB / win7 Ultimate 64 Bit/ 64GB Ram
User avatar

Posts: 939

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:49 pm

Re: Suggestions

Would be nice, if we delete a selction with CLEAR BUTTON - that never will be an accident with destryoing the painted area too ... I don't know why, but I have very often accidents in case of mask and unwanted deleting of image-areas too :roll:
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 4705

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Suggestions

Not sure about the delete-accidents?! But back to the bristle story: THANK YOU, Stavros, for reminding me! Because that's exactly why I hooked up pressure controlling the image sequence!
But it was just a thought then and I promise I will make a really nice brush GUI, where you can control the bristles directly for such things rather than an image sequence workaround.
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 939

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:39 pm

Re: Suggestions

DELETE ACCIDENTS = I cant delete my mask without a risk to destroy the image(part) on the current layer :shrug:

my solution, just deactivate the mask, delete the mask only in a new layer.
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
User avatar

Posts: 1293

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:49 pm

Post Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:19 pm

Re: Suggestions

One tiny thing.

Brush 3 is very difficult to adjust in low bristle rate. 0-2% = nothing visible, 3% very fine dots, 4% already quite a lot dots, 29% completely filled stroke, 29-100% "only" big difference in build up.

This would be nice to have it a bit more balanced, as it can be used with image brush "particle" distributor.Something like 1-50% increased number of stipples until filled stroke, 50-100% build up difference.
On the other side, bristle size on 100% could be even bigger.

This could help with this kind of fun.
Oscilate to adjust for each bristle could be nice, but only if performance is same ;)
That's the big plus on brush 3.

Brush3_Imagebrush.JPG
Brush3_Imagebrush.JPG (74.83 KiB) Viewed 778 times


Crazy 3d shit with fluids. Two stroke picture :D

Brush3Crazy3D.JPG
Brush3Crazy3D.JPG (60.87 KiB) Viewed 778 times
System: i7 3930k@4,2 Ghz / Titan GTX 6GB / win7 Ultimate 64 Bit/ 64GB Ram
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 4705

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:25 pm

Re: Suggestions

NICE! :D
....ah, yeah, sure, I will have a look! This sort of stuff I had to deal with before already, but I neglected the old brushes for a long time again. Last thing I did was adding image brush support for them, but only very crudely. I so can't wait to hook up a proper brush editor. :roll:
Thanks, Knacki! :ob
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
PreviousNext

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software