Page 1 of 2

Black Screen

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 6:07 pm
by FJGC
Hey everybody, I think I ran into an issue. The other day I was working on a painting, everything normal as usual. Saved it to a vrv file, today, upon reopening, the workspace is Black. But the layer still shows my image preview as it should be. What could this be? Here is a screenshot

Image

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 7:14 pm
by Taron
Ah, yes, I was replying to you in the gallery thread already, but, yeah, your image is still there, no worries. It's just a GPU memory issue. Make sure you don't have any other app running.
Also, crop into it a bit with [Shift]+[F2]. Just make it a bit smaller and see, if it comes back. If you do not need the first layer, which may just hold a sketch, try deleting it and see, if that already brings it back!

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:20 pm
by pudjakjuzto
Probably each of us has experienced this black card 8-)
and failures while saving :roll: ... so write often :beer:

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:34 pm
by FJGC
Hey Taron and pudjakjuzto, thank for the reply. This error seems weird, because my other VRV files seem to open no problem. And it's the only app besides Chrome that's open, and I have 6gb of memory on my RX470, so that shouldn't be it either. I did the crop thingy you said, both ways. If I enlarged the crop, it stayed black. But if I made the crop smaller, this happened: (basically a white image of the brushstrokes sans color appears)

Image
Do you know how I can recuperate the color? Also regarding the delete the layer, I cannot do it, I have tried multiple times and I can't figure it out. Could you please give a little explainer?

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:54 pm
by Taron
select the layer and then hit [Shift]+{Delete]!
The white is a new one, haha! My goodness... well, just do NOT overwrite your original image!!! We will get it back! c:!

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:47 am
by FJGC
Hey Taron, thank you so much for your help. So this is the link (please wait about 10 minutes before it uploads completely):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/z6eu23u4dz6z8 ... o.vrv?dl=0

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2019 11:18 pm
by FJGC
Hey Taron, any update on the file I sent you? Could you find any problem with it?

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 12:04 am
by Taron
Oh, danged, I'm so sorry, I haven't even had a chance to check it out, yet. Downloading it right now. But it'll have to be tomorrow for news...
Sorry about the delay! :oops:

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 12:59 pm
by Taron
Francisco!!! :hyper: ... :? ...I've had no troubles at all loading your vrv...
Autodesnudo_small.jpg
Autodesnudo_small.jpg (149.77 KiB) Viewed 1042 times


And here's a crop...
Autodesnudo_crop.jpg
Autodesnudo_crop.jpg (91.12 KiB) Viewed 1042 times


It took like 3 minutes to save it as png, that's for sure dramatic, but other than that it not only loaded fine, but was even workable, which shocks me a little.
Check my signature to see my graphics card! No matter what, I can assure you that your file is fine, which is great, because it's got a great start. I also can assure you that even a cheap NVidia (not sure how much it is now, but it's easy 3 years old now, isn't it?!) can handle your image well. I'm super happy about this, of course! :D ...but I'm also very sorry that you have any troubles with it, that's terrible.

Not sure what I can do about it, because there literally is nothing wrong with it. :shrug:

I'm sorry it took me so long to check it and reply. I'm super busy to do my best to finish up our first commercial software and it's a scary adventure at this point. Plunging into cold waters, so to say, and we're just about approaching the water's edge... takes almost a bit more courage than we know to have, but well... we're pulling ourselves together, giving all our energy with love and care. That will have to be what it takes, but I will remain distracted from Verve until we find out. Won't be long anymore, though! :borg:

Re: Black Screen

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:45 pm
by FJGC
Hey Taron!
Thanks for the reply. So I tried opening it on my laptop which has a Geforce GTX 780m, and it worked no problem! Seems to be there is some sort of AMD issue going on (my main PC has a RX470).