Strange bug that makes Verve unusable


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:36 am

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:45 am

Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

I just downloaded the program and was excited to use it until... I realized something was really wrong. This is what Verve looks like when I open it:

Image

As you can see, the color wheel in the top right is a square. The canvas is black, and I am unable to change that. And the worst part is, I am unable to change anything about the brush other than its size. I have all my drivers up to date, and a modern graphics card. I am not sure what could be the issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6747

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 8:49 am

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Hi Aidan,
can you post your computer's specs, especially the graphics card?! Because that I have never seen! :shrug:
It's weird, because the rest of the GUI looks totally fine. It's as if the shaders weren't compatible, except the shaders I wrote for the GUI??? Bizarre to say the least. :ud:
Here to help! :D
System Info: AMD Radeon RX Vega 10, AMD Ryzen 7 (2.3 Ghz), Windows 11
Taron.de | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:36 am

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:39 pm

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Sure.

Resolution: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz
OS: Windows 11 Home Insider Preview 22H2 25217.1010
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-10400F CPU @ 2.90GHz 2.90 GHz
RAM: 32.0 GB
GPU: AMD Radeon RX 6600

If this is an issue to do with Windows Insider, I am just about to throw my computer out of the window... it has given me so many problems.
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6747

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 3:08 pm

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Holy crap, that sounds like a pretty darn great machine, but it's also a darn AMD Radeon, which cause plenty of grief to begin with.
I'm currently also on an AMD Radeon, but MUCH smaller. It all works fine here, even if NVidia is generally more reliable and more "fluid" :hihi: ...but well.
I can't tell you what's wrong, but something sure IS wrong. No idea, if there are some possible settings you may change on your graphics drivers... hard to tell. :shrug:
Hopefully more people here see this and have some ideas? :? (PLEASE, HELP!) :geek:
Here to help! :D
System Info: AMD Radeon RX Vega 10, AMD Ryzen 7 (2.3 Ghz), Windows 11
Taron.de | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:36 am

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 6:26 pm

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Thanks :hihi: I made it myself about a year ago!

I will mess around with AMD Radeon to see if I can work something out, and I will let you know if anything changes, thanks!
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6747

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 6:44 pm

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Ahahaha, you put your machine together yourself?! Very cool!
I did that a couple of times, but the last one was with water-cooling thanks to the "GREAT ADVICE" of some friends of mine. "No problem at all", they said... uhu. :uhuhuh: fried and destroyed all my drives with all my data after it sprung a leak a few months into it. That was joyous.

Yeah, thanks, let me know how it goes, please, that's great! I keep my fingers crossed! :ob
Here to help! :D
System Info: AMD Radeon RX Vega 10, AMD Ryzen 7 (2.3 Ghz), Windows 11
Taron.de | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube
User avatar

Posts: 3239

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:58 am

Post Tue Oct 18, 2022 9:01 pm

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

I am not a specialist but it's not possible to install a "virtual machine" less powerful and see if result is the same ? :roll:
Is beautiful that please without concept!
http://moiscript.weebly.com/ https://schmoll8.wixsite.com/magicavox
Latop: Geforce GTX 950M, Intel Quad Core i7, Windows 10, 8 Gigas, 2.4ghz

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:36 am

Post Thu Oct 20, 2022 4:26 am

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Taron wrote:Ahahaha, you put your machine together yourself?! Very cool!
I did that a couple of times, but the last one was with water-cooling thanks to the "GREAT ADVICE" of some friends of mine. "No problem at all", they said... uhu. :uhuhuh: fried and destroyed all my drives with all my data after it sprung a leak a few months into it. That was joyous.

Yeah, thanks, let me know how it goes, please, that's great! I keep my fingers crossed! :ob

Yikes, thankfully my computer includes no liquids haha. Unfortunately, I turned every setting in the AMD software on and off, and nothing changed.

Pilou wrote:I am not a specialist but it's not possible to install a "virtual machine" less powerful and see if result is the same ? :roll:

That's a good idea, I didn't think about that. I'm installing a Windows 7 machine right now to test it out.
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 6747

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Thu Oct 20, 2022 8:41 am

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

Just to clarify, I've just updated my signature to reflect my current machine specs... I'm on Windows 11 on an all AMD Mini PC. :geek:
Here to help! :D
System Info: AMD Radeon RX Vega 10, AMD Ryzen 7 (2.3 Ghz), Windows 11
Taron.de | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:36 am

Post Thu Oct 20, 2022 2:11 pm

Re: Strange bug that makes Verve unusable

I tried a Windows 95 machine (since I already had one installed) and a Windows 7 machine and both returned EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION when trying to open the application. :cry: Not sure what to do now.
Next

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software