Greetings from a total graphics newbie

Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

Post Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:42 am

Greetings from a total graphics newbie

First of all, let me be totally honest: I cannot draw or paint. Like, anything. When I was a child, the only drawings which were even remotely recognizable to anyone else, were cars, drawn from the side. You know, two wheels, the bodywork, the radio antenna sticking out etc.

I am in other ways quite artistic, as I have always loved music in all its forms and varieties. Moreover, I am a professional dance teacher, so yes, I have gotten to enjoy my share of the arts. Just not drawing or painting. I have always been a bit envious to those who can. Sometimes I have been playing around with the idea of taking an arts class and learning how to do oil paintings and such. Just haven't gotten the nerve to actually do it.

The same goes for computer graphics, where I really suck. I mean, the big way.

Enter Verve, which I just recently found. Oh wow.

I am still a newbie when it comes to this program, but all of a sudden, the brilliant fluid dynamics approach took me to producing my first trials of "abstract paintings" in, like, 30 minutes. I am quite frankly flabbergasted at how easy it is to create something out of a vague idea, something which actually remotely resembles something other than the result of the two-year-old myself doodling with crayons.

Verve continuously encourages me to play around with the different parameters and watch as the results are formed in front of my eyes. This brilliant piece of software gives me an immense feeling of achievement. To me, it is like the Fruity Loops of drawing; and endless source of artistic innovation.