Black Screen


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

User avatar

Posts: 25

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:16 am

Location: Quito - Ecuador

Post Mon May 13, 2019 6:07 pm

Black Screen

Hey everybody, I think I ran into an issue. The other day I was working on a painting, everything normal as usual. Saved it to a vrv file, today, upon reopening, the workspace is Black. But the layer still shows my image preview as it should be. What could this be? Here is a screenshot

Image
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5050

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Mon May 13, 2019 7:14 pm

Re: Black Screen

Ah, yes, I was replying to you in the gallery thread already, but, yeah, your image is still there, no worries. It's just a GPU memory issue. Make sure you don't have any other app running.
Also, crop into it a bit with [Shift]+[F2]. Just make it a bit smaller and see, if it comes back. If you do not need the first layer, which may just hold a sketch, try deleting it and see, if that already brings it back!
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 347

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 5:04 pm

Post Mon May 13, 2019 8:20 pm

Re: Black Screen

Probably each of us has experienced this black card 8-)
and failures while saving :roll: ... so write often :beer:
System info: NVidia GTX1080, i7 6700, Win10
User avatar

Posts: 25

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:16 am

Location: Quito - Ecuador

Post Mon May 13, 2019 8:34 pm

Re: Black Screen

Hey Taron and pudjakjuzto, thank for the reply. This error seems weird, because my other VRV files seem to open no problem. And it's the only app besides Chrome that's open, and I have 6gb of memory on my RX470, so that shouldn't be it either. I did the crop thingy you said, both ways. If I enlarged the crop, it stayed black. But if I made the crop smaller, this happened: (basically a white image of the brushstrokes sans color appears)

Image
Do you know how I can recuperate the color? Also regarding the delete the layer, I cannot do it, I have tried multiple times and I can't figure it out. Could you please give a little explainer?
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5050

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Mon May 13, 2019 8:54 pm

Re: Black Screen

select the layer and then hit [Shift]+{Delete]!
The white is a new one, haha! My goodness... well, just do NOT overwrite your original image!!! We will get it back! c:!
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 25

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:16 am

Location: Quito - Ecuador

Post Tue May 14, 2019 2:47 am

Re: Black Screen

Hey Taron, thank you so much for your help. So this is the link (please wait about 10 minutes before it uploads completely):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/z6eu23u4dz6z8 ... o.vrv?dl=0

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xoalansdwe and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software