Bug Reports


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

jim

User avatar

Posts: 285

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:54 pm

Post Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:45 pm

Re: Bug Reports

... Continuation from the "fire and ice", daily sketch.

i too had the "fading color over time" thingy that Chadwgreene described "here", before ... didn't touch these spots since the very beginning :?

Image Image

Seems to me, to be a alpha-to background problem because these used to be the two most transparent areas of the pinting (i worked with only one layer, Fluidity at 27% and drying ON during the whole session)
I'll send you the file Taron, if i may? ... The holes seem to have traded their transparency for loss of saturation, somehow ... create a new layer in the background and paint something contrasty behind the holes to see.
Specs: Intel Core i7-990X Extreme Edition : NVIDIA GeForce GTX580 : 12 GB DDR3 1333 MHz : Windows 7 64bit
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5904

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Bug Reports

That truly is fascinating and sucks! I'll have to investigate, once I have time again. Hopefully this weekend. :|
There are good and ambiguous news on the material front, though, because I'm planning to rewrite the system based on a little experiment I did a while ago. Ambiguous, because it's unclear how successful the transition will be, but good because it would mean a number of awesome things. One would be that a single layer could have any number of different materials or paint properties, because shading info would be with the paint and not with the layer. The other would be greater clarity for my management of it all.
However, it's not clear whether this is going to make it slower or even faster, hahaha, as weird as it sounds. Thing is, I can do a form of deferred rendering that might skip a few complicated shader fills. However, the "material" portion of the paint would change from RED only to RGBA at 32 bit, which is quite a bit more memory. BUT I also am planning on changing the layer display and management so that only the currently active layer requires full rendering and the layers around it would precompute as you switch to your active layer. This could introduce a number of complications, but hopefully I will figure this out nicely/smoothly. Sometimes this stuff sounds ridiculous and then it actually is ridiculously easy, too, but at other times... WAAHHHH! :shock: .... so...we shall see.
ONe thing is for sure: Good things are coming! 8-)
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7

jim

User avatar

Posts: 285

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:54 pm

Post Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:59 am

Re: Bug Reports

THAT, ... sounds, so very awesome, dude ... i am blown away ... even though i barely understood half of it :lol: :?
i really do very much appreciate it when you go into some detail about what you are up to, behind the curtains, though!
Anyway, i did understand the very last line, i'll stick to that and be excited :D
Specs: Intel Core i7-990X Extreme Edition : NVIDIA GeForce GTX580 : 12 GB DDR3 1333 MHz : Windows 7 64bit
User avatar

Posts: 1903

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:48 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:55 pm

Re: Bug Reports

thanks for the u6 & all brushes canvas effect ...
but all the colors are almost black.
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5904

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 7:06 pm

Re: Bug Reports

You adjust the brightness of the color, right?! :)
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5904

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 7:33 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Alright, I've changed the defaults to be a bit more obvious. When you start up Verve now, it should have a reddish pencil like quality. That way you will see the brightness of the color right away and won't get concerned! ;)
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1903

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:48 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:34 pm

Re: Bug Reports

thanks *
but i still have the problem
v0.99u6 [1] & v0.99u6 [2]
without any change ... it is default
all colors is black !.jpg
all colors is black !.jpg (92.87 KiB) Viewed 6006 times


+ test on image & N
14 06 23 01 47 36.jpg
14 06 23 01 47 36.jpg (233.09 KiB) Viewed 6002 times



& sorry
an old bug when new one
mirror & mask !.jpg
mirror & mask !.jpg (187.55 KiB) Viewed 6006 times
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5904

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:39 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Uh, ah, download again, please! Sorry about that, but I totally missed something. Should be fixed now! :? :oops:
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1903

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:48 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: Bug Reports

thanks --{-@ still black

& non-symmetrical mask
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5904

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Jun 22, 2014 10:06 pm

Re: Bug Reports

That's weird. I've tested the latest version (from an hour ago) on the Cintiq, which is very sensitive to mistakes, and the paint works just fine!? I don't understand, really. But the mask symmetry?! Yeah, that is weird... I'll fix that, too! :oops:
I don't understand the black paint situation, though. Can you record a little clip. BUT PLEASE download first again, to be sure!
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
PreviousNext

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software