Verve keeps using Integrated GPU


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

Posts: 3

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:55 pm

Post Fri Apr 03, 2020 2:21 pm

Verve keeps using Integrated GPU

According to Task Manager, Verve keeps using my integrated GPU instead of the dedicated GPU, and it's getting bottlenecked. I have tried forcing it to high performance GPU in graphics settings (Win 10) but it still doesn't work. What exactly do I need to do to force Verve to use the dedicated GPU? Are there any settings menu in Verve that allows me to do this?

Specs:
OS: Windows 10
GPU: Integrated - AMD Radeon Vega 8
Dedicated - Radeon RX 560X
Verve version: 0.99w.08
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5686

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Fri Apr 03, 2020 2:46 pm

Re: Verve keeps using Integrated GPU

Hi propfeds, welcome to the forum! :beer:
Now that's a weird one. I'm curious to hear what people have to say about this myself... :oops: :lol: ...I certainly don't have any code in there to distinguish where the GL instructions go, nor do I have a clue how a software would make that distinction? :shrug: ...I wager that it must be a settings thing, but AMD keeps disappointing me left and right, making it less of a surprise that something's funky in their settings, too. :PP
I know for sure that people, who have NVidia boards as alternatives have managed to do so without hickups, assuming I can trust their enthusiasm. :ob ...but that ain't helping you right now, of course. So, hmmm... well, while we wait to see, if someone has some useful ideas, I'll try to see what I can find online. Bare in mind that Verve is written with BlitzMax, which is by now a fairly dead language, yet, it's still quite wonderful. Shame, really. However, that limits resources dramatically regarding new drivers or other libraries that relate to current gear. But I've managed to write my own 16bit import and export of PNGs, raising my hopes I might be able to add more custom guts to the poor thing. 8-)

Anyway, thanks again for asking and let's see, if we can figure this out! :ugeek:

Right away I found this article:
https://support.ubisoft.com/en-gb/faqs/ ... cated-GPU/

Seems like there may be some settings that could prevent switching from happening, but I haven't really read it, yet, and have no way of testing it, of course! :geek:
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7

Posts: 3

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:55 pm

Post Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:44 pm

Re: Verve keeps using Integrated GPU

It's been a month and not any answers yet eh...

I probably have to live with sub-60 fps then haha :hihi:
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5686

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm

Re: Verve keeps using Integrated GPU

Ah, that's a shame. I'm sorry nobody has jumped on this yet. I assume you did read the article I was posting a link to up there?
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7

Posts: 3

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:55 pm

Post Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:40 am

Re: Verve keeps using Integrated GPU

I did. It's outdated.
The AMD control thing has probably changed its UI a thousand times between the article and I.
I can't seem to find any settings regarding it.
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5686

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun May 24, 2020 9:47 am

Re: Verve keeps using Integrated GPU

I'm sorry, prop, I wished I had any idea on how to solve your troubles. There's nothing I'd know to do about it. :shrug:
But, if I ever hear anything or stumble across more info, I'll let you know right away! :geek:


Last bumped by propfeds on Sun May 24, 2020 9:47 am.
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software