Everyone, what Graphics Card are you using?


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 4969

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:56 am

Re: Everyone, what Graphics Card are you using?

OK, I know FOR SURE now that Loading is limited by 32bit memory blocks, meaning it has nothing to do with the GPU and is just Verve's current 32bit restriction. I may be able to get around it! I have to figure out how I can best do it, but I will find a solution!
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 299

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:11 am

Location: Lima-Peru

Post Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:23 pm

Re: Everyone, what Graphics Card are you using?

Thanks Taron,
You're very welcome, I tried to contribute with feedback, and I'm very glad to be part of this forum where people is very open and kind.
You see, that response on NVIDIA forum was deleted, I guess it was cuz I replied to it with the comparisson with the AMD forum responses which btw got deleted too.

Anyway, I hope some day those NVIDIA verve res tests will arrive here,
but now there is an active member owner of an AMD Vega (with HBCC 8GB+16GB) here in the forum.
I sort of can't wait to see to what new boundaries Verve will arrive if it somehow could make use of those 24GBs, that would be insame man. :rock:
https://techgage.com/article/a-look-at- ... vega-hbcc/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gonnabdh
Portfolio: https://www.flickr.com/photos/eduardobedoya
System: Intel Xeon E5-2690, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680M, Windows 8
Verve Wishlist:
- LS/H color pallete
- Brightness Knob
- Pressets(with icons)
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 4969

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:52 am

Re: Everyone, what Graphics Card are you using?

Uh, yeah, well, I have my work cut out for myself to solve the CPU memory matters, though. So...while you may very well be able to work in really high resolutions AND actually save them, you may have to wait until I've made a version, which could load them again, ha...ha... :oops:
If I manage to write my own tablet mod for BlitzMax NG (64 bit), then all those problems should be gone. But I've never done that and am not sure, if I can. The other solution would be a strange one. I could change the way I save images (again) and figure out how to make compressed chunks that will be saved in an uncompressed collection file. Then that should load fine, I imagine. But I have to work on that for a moment.

Well, don't worry about your little journey into the pro forums. I can imagine that they may have looked at it as advertising, or so...and Pilou just informed me, that some anti-virus apps (total mafia) now considers free SSL solutions as a mismatch, trying to force people to buy services again. Pure mafia tactics. But if some on those forums have tried to get here, they might've run into this problem, too, you know. Anyway, thank you and don't worry about it! :ob
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1433

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:49 pm

Post Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:33 pm

Re: Everyone, what Graphics Card are you using?

But it's very interesting to hear, that AMD Vega seems to be "weaker" than Nvidia with same VRAm.
In the tests, I didn't see wich cards they used, as the Vega is sold in different Ram versions from 8GB-16GB - if I lokked correctly.

For me, it is actually very interesting, as I need a new machine....RIP old workstation.
I guess the motherboard is gone. First day two USB ports stopped working, next day graphic card :(


I need a new toy, quickly.

Qadro 5000 offers 16 GB as well...?
System: i7 3930k@4,2 Ghz / Titan GTX 6GB / win7 Ultimate 64 Bit/ 64GB Ram

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:36 pm

Post Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:17 pm

Re: Everyone, what Graphics Card are you using?

Nividia GeForce : GTX 1050 Ti 4GB Graphics .

Intel Core i7-8700 Processor ; 8th Generation ,
16 GB Memory.
2 TB ( 1.8 actual ) Hard Drive.
[[ Verve is being run off a Samsung solid state external drive. ]]
Previous

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software