Brush Settings & Configurations


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

User avatar

Posts: 354

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:11 am

Location: Lima-Peru

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:37 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

wtf, seems to be some kindof artifact, could you share the vrs?
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gonnabdh
Portfolio: https://www.flickr.com/photos/eduardobedoya
System: Intel Xeon E5-2690, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680M, Windows 8
Verve Wishlist:
- LS/H color pallete
- Brightness Knob
- Pressets(with icons)
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5216

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:41 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

Uh, how weird, yeah. Using Brush #9 with images and "=" paint mode without the canvas texture turned on creates this funny nonsense. :oops: ...I had literally no idea, haha! Thanks for finding out! I'll fix this right away! :ugeek:
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5216

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:56 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

Ugh...not an easy fix. I haven't looked at that part of the code in a long time and it's quite convoluted. Several shader options having to interact with canvas options, all going in and out of each other, haha...jeez. I remember mentioning before that I did neglect the canvas texture OFF mode quite a bit, because it felt unlikely somebody would do a lot with it anymore and I was focusing on all the things a texture would require and permit artists to accomplish. So...yeah, I'll have a close look at this asap... :|
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 354

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:11 am

Location: Lima-Peru

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:23 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

When importing imgs to Verve, by default it applies the texture on top of them,
so if I import a painting that had some impasto, it will add the texture on top of that impasto, I disable texture in that case, and add some new Verve paintstrokes to create a kinda mixed digital media xD.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gonnabdh
Portfolio: https://www.flickr.com/photos/eduardobedoya
System: Intel Xeon E5-2690, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680M, Windows 8
Verve Wishlist:
- LS/H color pallete
- Brightness Knob
- Pressets(with icons)
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5216

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

It's not "applying the texture on top", but rather imagine the image you're loading as a thin film of colors that rests on a textured ground/canvas. There are several ways you can deal with that:
A) turn the canvas off, but you may currently ONLY DO THAT, IF- and only if- you can keep yourself from making a brush image, using it on brush#9 with "USE" turned on and turn on the "=" mode for painting. If you can avoid doing that, you'll be fine! :roll:
B) Add a layer under your loaded image, fill it - [ctrl]+[shift]+[f] or hit the fill button- do this twice (make sure you release all buttons between the two fills, because I was putting a protection in there that avoids accidentally filling twice!). Then merge the layers together again.
C) turn down the canvas strength to 0.1, leaving an imperceptible trace of the texture, but everything will continue to run as well as it does.
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 378

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 5:04 pm

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

Ok that .vrs i can not find
Last time I got too much entropy on my desk

I switch between the canvas mod
To move the paint just for that moment
Because without canvas the paint does not resist




Thank you for everything
Unfortunately my English is not the best :shock:
When I was young I threw stones at school ...

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B35e_NzDjSDBUVNzbzR0Z1FxWDQ?usp=sharing
System info: NVidia GTX1080, i7 6700, Win10
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5216

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:16 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

:lol: GOOD FOR YOU, WELL DONE! :ob
Your unconventional thinking makes you the artist you are! c:! Love it! :beer:

Anyway, no need, I know exactly what is happening. I still need to find an elegant solution, but it's clear where the problem is in the code! :geek:
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 378

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 5:04 pm

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:20 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

Thanks a lot :bow:
System info: NVidia GTX1080, i7 6700, Win10
User avatar

Posts: 354

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:11 am

Location: Lima-Peru

Post Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:18 pm

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

Here I come again, I apologise in advance Taron xD :mrgreen:
does that problem with the Ctrl Shift F been applyed twice have something to do with Ctrl and Shift being assigned as modifier keys for the modifier paradigm (smudge-average),
cuz if this is so, perhaps it could be solved by assigning Letter keys as modifiers instead, leaving Ctrl n Shift free to be assigned to all universal Ctrl n Shift hotkeys
anyway, sorry is that is not the case, is just that my poor twisted brains always wondered if there was a particular reason why in Verve..


Ctrl S is "export layer" instead of "save"
Ctrl Shift S is "export img" instead of "save as"
S is "save" ?
Shift S is "save as" ?

O is "Open" instead of Ctrl O
F9 is "add new layer" instead of Ctrl Shift N
Shift F2 is "crop/expand canvas" instead of Ctrl Alt C

Ctrl E is not "Merge Layer"
Ctrl J is not "Copy Layer"

Thanks advanced.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gonnabdh
Portfolio: https://www.flickr.com/photos/eduardobedoya
System: Intel Xeon E5-2690, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680M, Windows 8
Verve Wishlist:
- LS/H color pallete
- Brightness Knob
- Pressets(with icons)
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5216

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Brush Settings & Configurations

You better sit down for this, Eduardo, because this will knock you off your feet:
Verve is not Photoshop!
If you wish to, you may transfer $10 every month, though, to get you started on the feeling of how it is to be on Photoshop! :lol: ;)

Also, see my documentation before you trouble yourself trying to figure out the depth of Verve's file operation features:

[o] to load projects
[s] to save projects/export images (png, jpg)
[Shift]+[s] to save as...
[Ctrl]+[s] to save active layer only as 16 bit PNG with alpha
[Ctrl]+[Shift]+[s] to save image as two 16 bit PNG images of components: Color only and Material only (height image). Filename gets suffix "_col" and "_mat".
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
PreviousNext

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software