Feedback w0.1


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

User avatar

Posts: 1068

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:05 pm

Re: Feedback w0.1

hmm, some people did have similar crash with other applications too:

https://www.google.com/search?q=ntdll.d ... =firefox-b
but I can't help for myself. But other programms are running fine. with ntdll.dll (my version 6.1.7601.24231)
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5152

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:19 pm

Re: Feedback w0.1

This looks like just an ordinary "access violation", which means something tried to access memory that wasn't allocated, like shooting over an array size or the likes. Thank you for posting all this, Zero.
It would help me a lot more, if I knew what you were doing, you know. The errors themselves rarely tell anything useful other than that something went wrong, but it's impossible to say what or where.
If, for example, you were loading some imported brush images via Lemi's tool (wasn't it?!), this does some unusual stuff I couldn't yet track down.
Can you somehow remember any steps, just roughly, some key actions you've made such as the just mentioned import or creation of brush images, or import or transform into a canvas texture or anything exotic?
Especially also roughly what resolution you were using (image size) and possibly how many layers, if more than one?
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1068

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:28 pm

Re: Feedback w0.1

I did paint with the same Color-Swatches, like with the Swatch-Crash some days before. I used also Brush images - and the "USE"Button for image brush was activatet. I did paint a bird mostyl with brush #9, #2, #3 should I ipload my image brushes and my color swatches? The project file was destroyed with "0 KB" filesize.

No Canvasstructure, no Bump, no "Highspeed" function (mostly standard setting).

Light was 100% black
Ambient Light was 100% white

I played also a bit with U / SHIFT U for recording, but only as a test - but I think it was a halfhour 'before' the crash and maybe not the crash reason.

Image Size 3364px / 1611px (I knew it, because my next paint will be also made with photoshop) - andy yes, I used also PNG Import - so the original png file is out from photoshop. Even two PNGS, background and PNG Alpha ;) with lineart. 3rd and 4th layer for painting in verve.

layers 3-4

And I remember also, during the saving process - I switched with ALT+TAB to my firefox browser. After that I switched back with the mouse - but oh oh oh .. I did see "ACCESS VIOLATION Error" in the Thumbnailscreen near by the Windows "launch toolbar". Because I did use sometimes ALT+TAB and sometimes the mouse or graphic pen.

Thumbnailscreen => das kleine Fensterchen, was aufpoppt, wenn man mit der Maus in die Startleiste geht, um das Programm zu wechseln , meinem Fall von Verve zu Firefox und später von Firefox zu Verve.
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5152

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: Feedback w0.1

Uh, that could all be a collection of the most questionable things to do all in one session, hahahahahahaha! :lol: :? :shock:
Wow, Zero, taahahaha, man. Well, don't know where to start. Jeeez, the most mysterious things are png imports, because png is a wild format, really. It's like somebody sort of handed out an idea for what a format could be like and went:" Just sorta do it kinda like that way and call it ".png", if you will!". Photoshop's pngs, especially with alpha, can be naughty ones and my import is likely the most rudimentary there is. So that alone can cause some strange things to happen. Let alone image brushes that are imported that way is already a wild card, because I have not written that conversion and remember it causing troubles before. But also, when you do a big save like that, it is a bit risky to switch to any other app that uses GL and Browsers most certainly do. So this could corrupt the GPU memory in a flash.
As a general precaution I would recommend not switching tasks while you are saving. Just get something from the fridge in the meantime or so, hahaha...at such resolutions saving can take time.

I should make it my goal to get you out of photoshop, hahaha, because it just can't be that Verve won't give you all you need. Someday you'll have to tell me what you're missing and why you go to photoshop exactly and I'll see what I can do, I promise! 8-)

I do believe that this was a system related crash for now. You can always send me your brushes and swatches just out of curiosity. Who knows, maybe there is something funky I can track down that way?! :geek:

But ABOVE ALL, Zero, THANK YOU for going through all this with me, this is great feedback and a great spirit! Ich mag auch, dass Du mal kurz auf Deutsch umgesprungen bist, hahaha, sehr witzig! :hug:
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1068

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:46 pm

Re: Feedback w0.1

okay, so I will never switch again during the saving/painting. Better siwtch after saving ;)

Here some files

http://www.mediafire.com/file/j13a4p9jy ... 3.vrv/file (reconstructed) ...

http://www.mediafire.com/file/45hhdavgy ... g.vrs/file
http://www.mediafire.com/file/992c3b9x7 ... s.vrc/file
http://www.mediafire.com/file/mybljrr3n ... 2.vrc/file
http://www.mediafire.com/file/rw4lx2mub ... l.vri/file

Swatches / Swatches2 very similar swatches

I also keep my ntdll.dll - because couldnt find this version number in the www.
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5152

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:54 am

Re: Feedback w0.1

Thanks, Zero, that's great! That eagle looks impressive! I hope, you'll get to finish that painting, too. Could be awesome!
I don't know how you use those brush images, but they do work as well as saving it all. I will play around with it a bit more later, see if I can run into any troubles, but for now this all seems to run just fine and looks great! c:!
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1068

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:31 am

Re: Feedback w0.1

Thank you dear Taron - the eagle is only a part of an bigger illustration - I use Slicing Tool from Phtoshop to paint Illustrations with bigger details :beer:

for the eagle I didn't used imagebrush - was only try and error, Brush #9 withe a couple of different colors good enough - greta brush for feather, fur, gras and hair.

But I have an idea for toogling Colors - as an shortcut

X changes between two colors, thats okay
[N] is random, I know - nice too

but my idea


my idea [Shift]+[X] or [Shift]+[N] changes colors along the Color Swatches Row - from left to right
[Alt]+[X] or [Alt]+[N] changes Colors from top to down - from the color Swatches :roll:


or Colorselection with [Cursors] :D :D

just an idea.
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 5152

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:44 am

Re: Feedback w0.1

I have a counter idea:
[c]+[cursor keys] moves across swatches! :hyper:
Actually, I will make a whole different lighting system, which would free up the cursor keys altogether. That way I could do [ctrl]+[cursor keys], which might be most convenient.
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 1068

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:35 pm

Post Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:31 am

Re: Feedback w0.1

cool :) too
my system: intel7 - 2600k, gtx 970, dualboot windows 7 64 bit / ubuntu 14.04 lts
my deviantartpage: http://zeropainter.deviantart.com/gallery
my youtube channel: zeropainter - ok, there are only 2-3 very short videos
Previous

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software